Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Install Node-Red Nodes to CtrlX Core without Internet

Install Node-Red Nodes to CtrlX Core without Internet

DCEN_Tony
Established Member

Hello,

I have no experience with this topic however I am trying to help someone install a Node (node-red-mysql-r2) to Node-Red without having to connect their Core to the internet.

Is it possible to download the package and install from file to get around this?

I have seen from topic https://developer.community.boschrexroth.com/t5/ctrlX-CORE/How-to-install-nodered-nodes-for-the-pale...that it may be possible using a *.tgz file and there was a link to documentation in Opto22 forum but I did not understand the solution here and could find no documentation.

Is it possible and if so does anyone have some simple step by step instructions for how to do this?

Many Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

CodeShepherd
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

The current state is still the same. The palettes to be installed needs to be downloaded on a PC with Internet and needed sources needs to be added.

We offer the possibility to do that packing for customers for testing purposes (See node-red-contrib-modbus node). Beware that signing an usage agreement.

Sgilk
Contributor

Hello @DCEN_Tony ,

Yes, you can install Node-RED pallets offline as .tgz. The packing process does not always automatically include dependencies, so this can be more problematic than the online install. Here is an example...

1. Install npm (sudo apt install npm)
  2. Pack package as .tgz (npm pack node-red-contrib-iiot-opcua)
  3. Install in Node-RED flow editor
    1. Sgilk_0-1708094628749.png
    2. Sgilk_1-1708094673662.png

You can also build a custom snap of Node-RED and include the pallets in the build. See node-red-demo-snap line 88. Credit @MauroRiboniMX 

David08
Long-established Member

Hello Sgilk,