cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SOLVED

simple, but very wrong, PLC structured text bombed the core.

simple, but very wrong, PLC structured text bombed the core.

MrAdam1983
Long-established Member

at this point, this is an observation and report. I do not intend on trying to diagnose the issue.

I am not a code developer, however I was feeling confident after my recent 5 week AI lead Javascript crash course and decided I would slam out of some structured text to test my newly minted WebIQ widget. After about 20 minutes of back and forth and figuring out the syntax and methods I had about 10 lines of code that appeared to accomplish a button toggle. no errors, no messages so I tried to download.  First it complained about an unidentified exception, finally figured out it was a issue with the watchdog on the main task.  Me, an un-educated intellectual, tried to disable the watchdog.  Ctrlworks was not happy with that choice so I re-enabled the watchdog and set the time out from 20ms to 200ms.  Again I tried to download and it went, still showing an exception, but the PLC loaded.... and then crashed. ctrlworks completely disconnected and when i tried to re-connect to the PLC app the core became un-responsive. eventually i powered cycled it and noticed that none of my apps loaded on the home page, in the PLC tab the core reported that there was no PLC app, and trying to connect through ctrlWorks again locked up the core.  I now have a blinking yellow light on the core, none of the apps load but I am able to see the apps and licenses in settings.

Since there is a new 1.20 subversion available I am just going to reload the core, I attempted to backup the core configuration and the creation of that backup file failed.

I done did'er good, but I am concerned that I was so easily able to completely bomb the core and everything on it.  Seems like a potential issue to me. 

5 REPLIES 5

CodeShepherd
Community Moderator
Community Moderator