cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SOLVED

Passing a method call from a Python OPC-UA server to the PLC environment via the DataLayer

Passing a method call from a Python OPC-UA server to the PLC environment via the DataLayer

Thomas_SF
Established Member

Hi together,
I am still new to the ctrlX system and am currently working with the SDK.

My problem is as follows:
I have programmed an OPC-UA server in Python.
With the help of the examples I was able to add nodes to the datalayer via Python and transfer the variables of the OPC-UA server there.
Now I want to bring my OPC-UA methods to the data layer so that I can pass on a method call to the PLC.

Unfortunately, I have not found any examples for attaching methods to the datalayer.

Is there a way to implement this concept?

Thanks in advance!

4 REPLIES 4

nickH
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Hi, 

Yes, it is possible to register methods in the Data Layer. You can see a example, if you go to "diagnosis/confirm/error" in the Data Layer. That this node is a method is defined in its metadata (Node Class = Method). If you click the button "Write" of a method, the code at your onWrite() function gets called. 

2022-03-15_11h11_28.png

But I don't know if methods in the Data Layer suits your task.

Could you please go into a little more detail on what you want to do in your Python App and what you want to do from the PLC?

Best regards

Nick

Thomas_SF
Established Member

Hi Nick thank you for replying,

Yes, exactly, there are methods on the datalayer that motivated me to work with it. (:

I would like to map the methods of my Python OPC-UA server to the datalayer. So when a method is called via the OPC-UA server, the corresponding method should be called on the datalayer.

With the method of the datalayer I want to start a functionality in my PLC environment.

Best regards

Thomas

nickH
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Hello Thomas,